Is anyone not fishing a two-hander?

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Panhandle, Nov 5, 2007.

1. Panhandle

Panhandle Active Member

My god, it seems like everyone is either fishing them, posting about them, buying one, etc..

I'd say the American revolution is in full effect. If you don't have one by now, you're not with it man.:D

2. Scott Keith

Scott Keith Member

Guess I'm not with it then... I still have way too much to learn about fishing a single hander. Case in point, this is my first year fly-fishing outside of the spring/summer trout season and I feel completely LOST... any good fly-fishermen in Everett area need a friend???? I'll drive!

Scott

3. I have always been a one hander myself. The idea of casting a 13 or 14 foot rod just doesnt seem fun to me. sure you can throw it across the river but its not my idea of having a good time. i plan on sticking with what i know and enjoy.

4. HauntedByWaters

HauntedByWaters Active Member

I actually sold mine recently and am going to buy a new one soon. I got the SAGE 9140-3 10 years ago and it proved too heavy for the fish I catch.

Furthermore I can spey cast my single hander about 80' and I hardly ever fish further away than that so I don't really see a need for a true 2 hander. This is with the standard issue RIO versatip without mods on a SAGE VT2 896-4. I should also mention that I am 6'3" so that height helps a lot with launching the line.

I believe anyone should be able to spey cast a single handed rod an adequete distance for most fishing situations.

Don't more people just spey cast with their single handed rods? Ever since I learned the spey cast and got it down it has revolutionized my ability to cover water but it was the cast and not the rod that was critical to more steelhead hooked.

The two handers coming out now called "switch" rods are far more alluring to me. But than again the fighting but on my single hander works fine as a handle so I am not so sure.