Is this a Stonefly Nymph?

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Entomology' started by Matt Smith, Jan 30, 2009.

1. Matt Smith On the river Noyb

Ratings: +2 / 0
    I found this guy under a rock along the Stilly. I think that it is a stonefly... am I right?

Attached Files:

2. RoyS Member

Ratings: +8 / 0
    Mat,

That looks like a Stonefly nymph to me. Stonefly nymphs are often confused with Mayfly nymphs. Stonefly nymphs have two long tails and Mayfly nymphs have three long tails.

Roy
  3. Big E Moderator

Ratings: +364 / 0
    I would say it is but I'm still learning...if I had to guess I would say it was a Skwala
  4. lx-88 Member

Ratings: +0 / 0
    Some mayflies have 2. Typically, stoneflys tend to be larger then mayflies.
  5. Itchy Dog Some call me Kirk Werner

Ratings: +422 / 0
    Send a shout out to Taxon. Roger will very likely be able to give a specific ID to the nymph in question. He's an incredible resource. :ray1:
  6. Norme DM is a D bag

I think that's a copper john size 10, or a pheasant tail rubber legs size 12
  7. riseform Active Member

Ratings: +281 / 0
    Given the size and time of year, I'd agree with Big E...looks like a Skwala
  8. Mckenzieguy New Member

That is a Hesperoperia pacifica (Golden Stonefly) Thay are smaller than a Salmonfly and usually hatch a few weeks after the Salmonflies. They are agressive eaters and use speed and ambush tactics to catch there prey. they live subsurface for three years before crawling out on the rocks to hatch.

Here in Oregon they are everywhere in the mid. spring.

Steve
  9. Matt Smith On the river Noyb

Cool, thanks guys. I love to know what the little buggers are that are living in the river. It makes me think that i can match the hatch and give me a better chance at outsmarting the fishies.
  10. Old Man Just an Old Man

Ratings: +1,652 / 0