lake lenore with kids

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by toadthedry, Mar 8, 2005.

1. toadthedry

toadthedry Member

I know there are a couple active lenore posts right now but I've got a little bit of a different question. I want to take my kids over in our row boat this weekend- probably Sunday. I took them over last fall and fished the south end trolling with buggers and had enough action (around a bite every 30 minutes or so) to keep em interested. I've never fished lenore in the spring. I was wondering- can we fish the south end with buggers and expect to do as well or do should we fish the north end. Also, it sounds like it is mostly a chironomid thing which is harder to do with kids I think. Is it possible to troll aroung the north end or is it too crowded and should we try chironomid fishing if we head up there to the north end?

Thanks
    Mike

2. ray helaers

ray helaers New Member

I am not a Lenore expert by any means, but my experience is that the woolly-bugger trolling is not quite as hot in the spring as it is in the fall. It can still work, and sometimes it might even be the ticket, but generally you are right; chironomids provide most of the action early in the spring. However, the kids should be able to handle soaking chironomids under bobbers, and on some days the action can be reasonably hot (try varying depths between the bottom and mid water-column), and involve less rowing for you. If this can bring a fish aboard every 10-15 minutes or so (not an entirely unreasonable expectation), the kids should stay happy. (If you fish the south end, you can break things up by landing and claiming the island for your band of boodthirsty corsairs.)