Lakes Near Seattle That Support A Hexagenia Hatch?

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by Breck, Mar 28, 2011.

1. Breck Active Member

Lynnwood, WA
    Ratings: +55 / 0
    Hi folks,

I'm relatively new to the Puget Sound area. One of my favorite pastimes is to fish Merrill Lake near Mt St Helens in the evenings in late July/August during the hex hatches. Is there anywhere to do that around here?
  2. Trout Master Active Member

Not that I'm awhere of.
  3. ryfly Addicted to flyfishing

Snoqualmie, WA
    Ratings: +35 / 0
    Merril it is.
  4. Taxon Moderator

Mercer Island, WA
    Ratings: +92 / 0
  5. Taxon Moderator

Mercer Island, WA
    Ron-

Interesting info on Hexagenia hatches in Michigan. There are likely numerous WA lakes which have small populations of Hexagenia. Lake Washington is one example, as I usually see a Hexagenia dun clinging to my garage door sometime in August each year. Unfortunately however, the Hexagenia population in most WA lakes is insufficient for the type of emergence concentration it takes to get fish looking for them.
  6. triploidjunkie Active Member

Grand Coulee, WA
    Ratings: +1,003 / 0
    I can think of a couple lakes and rivers that support decent hatches of hex on the eastside. I try to hit them every year, but some summers are real spotty, while other years it's like hitting the lottery. The only place I'll give up is the Columbia River, but you have to get out and find them:beer2:
  7. IveofIone Active Member

Ratings: +899 / 0
    The Pend Oreille River has them south of Ione. Since most people are off of the river by the time the hex emerge they go largely unnoticed. And like other places that they hatch the river comes alive at dusk when everything from dinks to hogs get in on the action.

Ive
  8. troutpocket Active Member

Ellensburg, WA
    Ratings: +306 / 0