Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner

LARGE inshore predator

3K views 33 replies 23 participants last post by  Dipnet 
#1 ·
I hesitate to post this, but I'm going to anyway. Last Saturday at right around dusk I was sitting on my bulkhead in MA 13 watching the fry foraging around my floating dock. There were thousands of them actively feeding, the school was very large running from 5 ft from shore out to probably 20 ft from shore. I've never seen that many in one large school like that. I am confident that they were chum fry, and I made a point of walking out on the dock earlier in the day to verify it because I'd never seen that many in such a large school like that. I didn't catch any to key out, but as a biologist I was satisfied with my casual identification as chum. There were a few larger fish working around them and keeping them together in a large school. As I sat there in the twilight all of a sudden there was a very large wake on the surface of the water running toward the shore. The water parted like it does with the bow of a boat but I couldn't see what caused it, just the wake and what appeared to be a lunge forward by something to scoop up some of the chum fry. Then it dissappeared. I figured it must have been a very large sea lion, but it was in really close to shore and there was no sea lion surfacing to breathe like you normally see and hear when they are around. So I sat there wondering what it was for 10 minutes or so. Then it happened again. This time I could see a shadow of the front of something very large just above the surface of the water, but it was getting dark and I couldn't make a positive ID. The wake was large enough this time that it rocked my dock back and forth like a medium size boat wake does. Definitely had a very large body to make that kind of wake. After another 15 minutes it was getting very dark and I stood up to head inside. Then it happened again, but I couldn't see anything - just the sound of the water and then the waves