Learning to row driftboat...beater boat...Pontoon...or?

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by Josh, Mar 28, 2008.

1. Josh

Josh dead in the water

Media:
    What is the overall opinion on the best way to learn to row a drift boat?

I have no rowing experience in anything. I would like to learn to be able to take my friends (and children in the future) down some of the rivers here in Wa. Methow, Yakima, etc. No serious rapids (I'll stay away from sketch rivers or sections or rivers), but some interesting water and hazards to get through as with any fishing river around here. Also, we all know, our rivers can change from season to season with our rain and snow runoff. So I'd like to end up being smart enough that I would be surprised by a sweeper that wasn't on the river the last time I ran it.

If I were getting a boat I'd probably either get a cheap older fiberglass boat I could beat up without feeling bad. Or get a raft that would allow me to bonk off of stuff without damage.

What do you all think? Get a boat and just start paddling around lakes learning to row/spin/use the oars until I can find someone experienced to instruct me down a basic river? Get a pontoon boat and learn the basics of river currents and rowing? Take a class somewhere?

2. Jerry Daschofsky

Jerry Daschofsky Moderator Staff Member

Media:
    Home Page: