Learning??

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by Seeking_silver, Feb 24, 2005.

1. Alright I am just getting started here with learning to tie. Two Questions.....

How hard is it to learn how to use dubbing?? suggestions on websites that will help me...any personal tips??

Second...How do you spin hair? I have yet to have lessons and am just teaching myself, and the book I am using for trout flys (Phil Rowley) doesn't explain it much. Any help would be appreciated!

Rob

2. Well, if you are truly going for self taught, I'd suggest buying the benchside tyers reference (think that's the name of it). I'm still thinking of buying it myself. Has about every techique you can think of well laid out. I know I spent a bit of time reading over it in awe. Great book, and is as described in it's title.

Not sure of any sites off top of my head that have all those techniques on it. But sure someone will know one or two.

3. Fly Tying Made Clear and Simple by Skip Morris is great for the basic techniques. Great step by step illustrations.

Another idea is visit your local shop. Tell them you want to buy some dubbing or deer body hair because your want to learn to tie a hairwing or muddler, but you aren't sure about the technique. I'll bet that for the price of the material, they will show you right there.

Trevor

4. I am in the same boat as you, only I have about a month’s head start. Here is a web site that I found useful: http://www.flyanglersonline.com/flytying/beginners/
    , the site sort of take you through a tutorial, starting with the function of the basic tools to simple flies and on to some more complex ones.