Lighting for Fly Tying

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by Sportingfly, Jul 5, 2007.

1. Sportingfly New Member

Hershey, Pennsylvania
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I'm new to fly tying and I am looking for a good fly tying light fixture. I'm not sure what to look for in a lighting fixture. Any advice is appreciated.
  2. sashjo Member

Lakewood, WA.
    Ratings: +4 / 0
    Hershey! Born there! If you have a Lowe's or Home Depot back there, check the lighting section. You should be able to find a desktop light with a magnafying(sp) glass which is inexpensive. Hit the Yellow Breeches for me.
  3. riseform Active Member

Tacoma, WA
    Ratings: +269 / 0
    Hershey! Trained there! Take advantage of having Bob Clouser next door. I imagine he still puts on a great fly tying class (beginner and advanced). I bought one of those magnifying glass light combos when I lived there and I'm still using it over a decade later.
  4. Gary Thompson dirty dog

East Wenatchee, WA
    Ratings: +126 / 0
    Ya to the magnifying glass/light combo.
    My sweet little wife got me one a couple of months ago and I don't know how I lived without.
    I still wear my reading glasses, but the eye strain is way less.
    Making adjustments to keep your posture good is interesting.
  5. FT Active Member

Burlington, WA
    Ratings: +100 / 0