Lighting

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by Danielocean, Jul 7, 2013.

1. Danielocean Steelhead Virgin

Monroe
    Ratings: +581 / 0
    Hey guys I am new to this. What kind of lighting to you suggest for optimal comfort when fly tying. I have tied about a couple dozen flies now, and I am discovering that I need to take a good break after each fly because my eyes are so tired. My wife says I probably need some magnification and lighting but I do not know any good products out there. Can you guys help with some advice?
  2. zen leecher aka bill w born to work, forced to fish

Moses Lake, WA
    Ratings: +963 / 1
    I have an Ott light/magnifier I use but it appears it's no longer made.
  3. Danielocean Steelhead Virgin

Monroe
    Thanks I will look into it.
  4. cabezon Sculpin Enterprises

Olympia, WA
    Ratings: +237 / 0
    A good goose-neck lamp or fiber-optic light can be very helpful at putting light where you need it and be out of the day. Also, it is important that you have a good neutral background behind the fly.

Steve
  5. Danielocean Steelhead Virgin

Monroe
    What do you mean by neutral back round. Like a white board or something?
  6. jaybo41 Member

Eastern Great Lakes
    Ratings: +9 / 0
    The Ott lights sold at craft stores seem to be very popular, they are free standing lights that sit on your desk. There are a couple of brands that attach to your vise stem, McKenzie and Peak. I think the McKenzie offers a magnifier on one of their offerings. I've heard good things about both. Personally, I use a cheapie halogen desk lamp from Wally World, and a table lamp with a daylight bulb in it. The combination of both gets me all the light I need. If the desk lamp dies, I'll replace it with the Peak--I think. As for magnifiers, I use cheaters. I don't wear glasses and tie most of my flies without magnification. When I get down to the really small and intricate work, I pop em on. Not saying this is the right recipe for everyone but it works for me.