Lightning tops US fishing deaths

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Alosa, Jul 4, 2013.

1. Alosa Active Member

Seattle
    Ratings: +140 / 1
  2. Greg Armstrong Active Member

Pugetropolis
    Ratings: +336 / 0
  3. Kaiserman content

Ratings: +396 / 0
    Wow! I would have guessed golf.

Yeah, not to self: If you ever feel a "tingle" in the back of your neck (like the hair on your neck is rising) or on your arms...hit the deck man. At that point, moments before a strike, the lighting has chosen you as its grounding point.

I studied about the equivalent of 9 years of electrical theory (and the like) in college. Lightening is an absolutely fascinating natural phenomenon! The point of the bolt, on its way down, is the width of just one electron. The reason it's jagged on the way down, is because it is "seeking" the most negative ions in the air, on its path to the earth.

Okay, the geek in me just came out.
  4. Greg Armstrong Active Member

Pugetropolis
    Ratings: +336 / 0
    I certainly don't want to minimize the risk of lightening. 26 deaths since 2006 while fishing due to lightening strikes is no laughing matter. There was an article a while back about this in one of the Flyfishing mag's.
    But I wonder how many deaths have occurred due to accidents on the highway while travelling to/from a favorite fishing hole have happened during the same time period. I have a hunch it's more.
    We all take risks every day and it's good remembering that.
    Every day is a gift.
    Lugan likes this.
  5. _WW_ Fishes with Wolves

Skagit River
    Ratings: +643 / 0
    ...I thought lightning went from the ground up...
  6. Olive bugger Active Member

Woodinville, WA
    Ratings: +404 / 0
    A man standing hip deep in water with a graphite rod extended in the air, in an electron charged enviornment, WHAT COULD GO WRONG?
    dryflylarry and triploidjunkie like this.
  7. shadowcast Member

Ratings: +19 / 0