Line set-up for surf

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Mark Kulikov, Feb 23, 2006.

1. Mark Kulikov

Mark Kulikov Active Member

I've been considering trying my luck on the surf. I've read much in the way of equipment etc. I have everything in order with the exception of information overload on the line/leader set-up. The surf zone that I would be looking at can get pretty heavy at times, with a strong cross current. I would assume that a heavy sinking line would be in order. I've read that the following is a decent set-up for getting the fly down, and keeping it down in the surf zone.
    30lb dacron backing/120ft of 25lb berkly iron silk for a running line and 24ft (appx) of Cortland LC-13 for a shooting head. (Length cut and test cast for desired results). I'm new to this shooting head, sink line technique. My rod is a 9ft 6wt. Am I in the ballpark, or is there something else that I should consider. Target species is Barred Perch and flatties.

2. Denny

Denny Active Member

Media:
    I think you ought to look at a different line for a 6 weight than usinga head of LC-13. Pure shooting heads under 24' are difficult to cast. If it were a rod heavier than a 6, things would be different.

You might to check out a SA Streamer Express line.

3. D3Smartie

D3Smartie Active Member

Media:
    ask the guys on fliflicker.com or garybulla.com
    They are probably more knowledgable about the cali stuff than we are up here in WA. When i was in school down there I used my Rio Versi-tip with a type 6 tip. It worked ok, but the surf wasnt huge. I would have prefered to use the andro. adv. line as there is no floating section.
    A good running line with a 350-400 gr head would also be an option if you want to make your own.

4. Denny

Denny Active Member

Media:
    If you're looking for folks that are super savvy about heads, particularly LC-13, check out Dan Blanton's bulletin board.

5. Denny

Denny Active Member

Media: