Lines for an Echo TR 7130

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Jason Chadick, Jan 2, 2012.

1. Jason Chadick

Jason Chadick A Fish, A Fish, A Fishy, Oh...

Hey Gang,

I recently purchased an Echo TR 7130 and although I am a novice caster, I am halfway over the moon about how great this thing feels. I want to see if there is anyone else out there who is currently fishing this rod to see what lines they like on it. Right now I'm running a 550 grain Rio skagit flight on it, and it seems to load fine and chuck 10 feet of T-14 when I properly execute a cast, I am just curious to see what others like.

I am also curious about tips on this thing, and if I am overloading the rod (it doesn't seem like it, but like I said, I'm a novice). The grain window on the rod says 510-630, so if I'm running a 550 head and 10 feet on t-14 (140 grains) I'm technically trying to throw 690 grains on this thing, is that too much?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Jason

2. Evan Burck

Evan Burck Fudge Dragon

Media:
    Home Page:
    I had this rod for a while. Really didn't suit my style of casting, but definitely nothing wrong with them. At 550gr on that one, I think you're definitely on the high end, especially if you want to throw T-14. I'd be down around 500-525 or so on it. I think you'll find it to cast quite a bit better with the lighter load.

3. Jason Chadick

Thanks Evan. I think I might try something a little lighter with my next line purchase to see if that helps my consistency. The rod will cast the 550 and the tip pretty dang far, but I feel like my technique needs to be close to flawless for it to do so. On the Echo website it says that a 570 compact is appropriate, but they might not be considering tips then?

4. k2flyfisher

k2flyfisher its taco time. wheres the sauce?

Media:
    Home Page:
    first off, congrats on your entry into the two handed arena, your enthusiasm is great to see.