Ling Flies - Colors

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by GLSteel, Mar 12, 2014.

1. GLSteel

GLSteel New Member

Hey Guys,
    Going to be doing some fly fishing for ling cod this summer. I've never done it before and was looking for some advice as to which colour combinations I should tie my ling patterns in. So far it looks as though a tan/black combo is a popular one? Any insight would be very helpful!

Thanks

2. rotato

rotato Active Member

Yak hair greenling patterns
    Purple bunny leach with rubber legs
    Getting stoked

stilly stalker likes this.
  3. Chris Bellows

Chris Bellows The Thought Train

i've always like orange/yellow combinations but that has more to do with my confidence than anything else.

make em' big and with lots of movement, get them near a rocky bottom, and hang on. color probably matters the least out of all of the factors (weather, tides, knowing where to find em').

4. stilly stalker

stilly stalker Tuna sniffer

if its BIG. a ling will slam it
    Yellow/white
    black/purple
    orange/black ( probably looks tan/black underwater)
    olive/black

flash, rubberlegs, BIG YELLOW EYES

5. Patrick Allen

Patrick Allen Active Member

Although my fly fishing for lings is limited. Swim baits in White have proven very productive over the years in 20-50 foot depths

6. GLSteel

GLSteel New Member

Thanks for the suggestions everyone. Are you guys tying these flies with tandem hooks? or do ling usually hit the head of the fly?

Thanks again,

7. Steve Knapp

Steve Knapp Beach Bum

I was worried about short strikes until I hooked a couple of fish, don't worry about it, no such thing with lingcod. And I'm pretty sure you can only use a single barbless hook in Puget sound.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

8. Chris Bellows

Tandem hooks damage fish in my experience... I would avoid them or cut the front one off.

9. GLSteel

GLSteel New Member