Ling Flies?

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Connor H, Jan 23, 2009.

1. Connor H Bobbers n Beadz

Ellensburg, WA
    Ratings: +8 / 0
    As I look forward to a great year, I see the new lakes I will fish for bass, the small desert creeks I will hike miles and miles to, and the upcoming Ling Cod outings! I have never done it before but I now know what to do and where to go. I have run into one problem! I don't know what flies to throw\tie! Can someone give me a few insights on what to tie this spring?

Tight Lines,

Connor Hankinson

:thumb:
  2. ak_powder_monkey Proud to Be Alaskan

Eagle River, Alaska
    Ratings: +112 / 0
    big, white, glo in the dark... I hooked one on a size 5/0 white deciver with lead eyes some glo bug yarn in the tail and some white everglow as the wing. Worked great for blackrockfish too

you can kinda see the fly in this picture
    [IMG]

might use more synthetics next time. Don't worry about making your flies too big, saltwater fish have big mouths.

Post pics
  3. mrgando Member

Santiago, Chile
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    What kind of line did you use there ? And rod weight ? , I guess that's a fish that lives very near the bottom in the rocks right ?

Oh did you cast to it ? or you where trolling ?

Thanks for sharing a pict!
  4. Connor H Bobbers n Beadz

Ellensburg, WA
    Very Nice APM,

I really want to get into the whole Ling thing! I will start tyin' up some NASTY flies now that I know what I'm lookin' for...

P.S.- What am I trying to imitate?
  5. mrgando Member

Santiago, Chile
    @Connor H: If powder monkey used deceivers, you should be trying to imitate bait fish :) , sardines, or stuff like that.

Good luck...

PS : Could anyone answer my questions above ? :p
  6. Porter Active Member

Kenmore, WA, USA.
    Ratings: +530 / 0
  7. Smalma Active Member

Marysville, Washington
    Ratings: +716 / 0
    Conner -