Local Bamboo Rod Makers?

Discussion in 'Bamboo, Fiberglass & Classic Reels' started by bitterroot, Nov 1, 2010.

1. bitterroot

bitterroot Love vintage graphite!

Since I'm trying to get in to making bamboo rods I thought it would be nice to see who else in our community is crafting their own.
    Let's hear from the local bamboo rod makers!!!!!!!:thumb:

2. SpringCreek

SpringCreek Addicted to Cane.......

I've been making bamboo rods for about 10 years now. It started out when I was living in Colorado after "building" my first graphite rod. 10 years later I'm still going strong. I have two rods that I am just finishing the final planing on tonight as a matter of fact, PHY Perfectionist and a PHY Driggs River. I prefer the parabolic action of Young rods and decided it was finally time to add these two tapers to my collection.

Jim

3. Scott Behn

Scott Behn Active Member

I've always wanted to learn from someone, last person I knew moved to eastern washington so never got a chance...

4. bitterroot

Just a few photos from the class I was in.....
    In the group photo I'm the guy in the Harley t-shirt.

5. Mark Walker

Mark Walker Active Member

Nice stash, dude!
    I've seen the rod.......VERY nice!

6. Greg Armstrong

Greg Armstrong Active Member

Great to see the photos of the class you took, and great to see the tradition continuing on into the future. It almost died out when fiberglass came on the scene in the '50's.
    Thanks for sharing the pic's.

7. Salmo_g

Salmo_g Active Member

I made a couple cane rods in Dawn Holbrook's class in the early 1970s. Since then I've rolled a couple from old source bamboo blanks, but that doesn't really count since it's no more time consuming than building a rod from a plastic blank. Every now and then I think about doing it again, but always seem to have other irons in the fire.

Sg

8. Tom Bowden

Tom Bowden Active Member