Lone and yes again

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by Tony, Mar 11, 2014.

1. Tony

Tony Left handed Gemini.

Media:
    I moved off of the peninsula a couple of years ago and now Lone has become what I consider my home lake I really enjoy fishing this lake its not any easier to get to than some of the lakes on the peninsula that I learned to fly fish on and I do miss Cady although I fished it for 20 years and watched it as it declined with bitterness and disappointment till I can no longer fish there but that's another story. Now Lone is the lake that gets my heart beating fast the scenery is gorgeous, the fish healthy and fat with a good biosphere to support them and even though I've been fishing it now for a couple of years there is still much to be learned and experienced when it comes to fishing this lake so here's my thoughts and observations for this week take it for what you will. I arrived fairly early 8 a few others with prams arriving right behind me jockeying for position at the launch as I got set up, I finally broke down and have started bringing 2 rods and am considering a third just to cover my bases, I used to just carry spare spools with the lines I would need switching as or when I thought the situation required it, but let me tell you having another rod strung up for chironomids has become a staple in my arsenal and in a pinch I can cut the tippet back and use it for fishing dries that's where the possible 3rd rod comes in. I had decided that I would mostly fish chironomids today having found a couple of places on the lake that have been productive in the past, different places for me at least, I usually head to a couple other well known areas to fish but today I wanted to change up and try something different. The water temps were hovering around 47 a couple of degrees warmer than last week and there were bugs visibly coming off so my hopes were high as I started out across the lake to my chosen area, I use a fish finder and as I slowly made