Matching the hatch...(North Bend area)

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Entomology' started by chadk, Jun 7, 2003.

1. chadk

chadk Be the guide...

I've been seeing quite a few adult stoneflys (big) and the flying black ants are all over as well (north bend area). Those of you targeting the forks of the snoqualmie - have the fish keyed in on these yet?
    How about Rattlesnake lake or other lakes in the area?
    I haven't had a chance to try it out yet, but I hope to sneak out for an hour or 2 tomorrow and give it a try...

2. flybill

flybill Purveyor of fine hackle, wine & cigars!

I've been out there a few times recently, once a week for the past month, and seen a variety of bugs in the area. I didn't notice stoneflies, but I'm new at figuring out the entomology. Old Man and I were out at exit 38 and farther east this past Wednesday. We saw mostly caddis and some very small pale white or yellow bugs.

The previous week I was up in the North Bend stretch and saw some caddis and again those small bugs right near the surface. I did hook up with a nice small cutt on a #12 Royal Coachman in the early evening. I also read in an earlier post that a #14 Elk Hair caddis was productive.

Good luck and keep us posted! I may be up there tomorrow evening as well.

Bill

3. Old Man

Old Man Just an Old Man

I forgot what I was supposed to remember.

Well when you sneak out. Be sure to send me a report as I need to know if anything that I have will work. Have a few black ants and a few black caddis's. Also Have a few stone flies or stimulators. In many colors.

Do you really have to sneak out?????

Jim

4. chadk

chadk Be the guide...