Materials Swap

Discussion in 'Fly Swaps' started by seanengman, Jan 14, 2007.

1. seanengman

seanengman Trout have no politics

Media:
    I've never done a swap before, and thought a materials swap would be good. Everybody builds up excessive amounts of some materials and new materials are usually welcoming. I have a full deer hide that needs dismantling. Anyone want to get involved with this one or help me out. Peace.

2. David Holmes

David Holmes Formerly known as "capmblade"

Media:
    Home Page:
    I think that's a great idea. Is this something we should all do online or meet somewhere to do?

3. seanengman

Media:
    I'm thinking we should all do it online. That way we get a broad range of folks. I think I might bring this up in the Cast and Blast forum. Most of those folks have something to trade. I am thinking if this one works out I may do another when I get my elk hide back.

4. seanengman

Media:
    You should let me know by the Jan 31 if you are interested. I am going to keep an updated list on both posts so everyone knows who is in on this fiasco.

5. Craig Hardt

Craig Hardt aka Nagasaurus

Media:
    I may be in for this one but would like some more details on how this will work.

So if there were, for example, 10 people participating would we all put in 10 random bags of materials and then we'd get 10 random materials back? Or would I need to have enough of one single material to give the same thing to all participants? Will there be a theme...such as a fur/hair swap, dubbing swap, marabou swap, etc?

6. seanengman

Media:
    It doesn't matter to me, but you brought up a good point. I think 10 random bags would work, I personally have enough of one material to go about giving the same to each person, but this is a very flexible swap. Did you want there to be a theme, and if there were a theme does any natural materials sound good to you? Another thing, Does anyone have any ideas on the limit of people? So far the current list is: