Maxxon Cat Tube Question

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by Robert Engleheart, Apr 15, 2012.

1. Robert Engleheart

Robert Engleheart Robert

For those of you with Cats with 14' Maxxon tubes, I've a few questions:
    1. Oars; Carlisle or Cataract or ?
    2. Oar length? My frame is 8' long x 31" wide at bottom and 60" wide at oarlocks.
    3. I want a Cat that'll draft 3-4 inches with 500-700 lb. load; am I in the ballpark?
    Thanks in advance,

2. Ed Call

Ed Call Mumbling Moderator Staff Member

Media:
    I have 14' Maxxons. With that load you may be drafting deeper than you like. I have had fro 8'5" to 10' oars. Prefer mine at 10'. My frame measurements are very clues to yours.

3. Robert Engleheart

Robert Engleheart Robert

Ed, do you have a preference on oar mfgr's?

4. constructeur

constructeur Active Member

Media:
    Robert-

I'm just getting into a boat myself and have had many of my noob questions answered by searching through rafting sites, namely mountain buzz. www.mountainbuzz.com

There's also a heap of used boats on there,Craigslist (check 'rafty' areas like Bend, Or, Idaho, Colorado, etc.), and most manufacturers have a used section on their websites as well.

You didn't ask, but in regards to safety, I'll suggest looking at a throw bag, learning how to toss a coiled rope, and maybe getting a whitewater book to help you read water, and learn a couple of strokes. Sure, it's not like you're going to be hittin' class V's but it's not going to hurt giving them a once over either.

Two that are suggested regularly are:

Whitewater Rafting Manual. Johnson

The Complete Whitewater Rafter. Bennett

Both are available on Amazon

5. Robert Engleheart

Robert Engleheart Robert

Constructeur,