MF Snoqualmie Report

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by kbromer, Aug 4, 2008.

1. kbromer

kbromer New Member

Was able to get out for about 3 hours yesterday (noon-3pm-ish) afternoon and get a line in. Gorgeous day, variable but acceptable flows, and perfect clarity.

I'm still very new to fly fishing (had a great Steelheading lesson with Jeremy and Mike last weekend on the Sky) with experience back east in bait/tackle stuff, but wanted to get some more time in while the weather was good. Those single-barbless a bit tougher to land than the tridents I'm used to working with ;)

Quite a few bites but only managed to land a few cuttys (like I said, pretty new here ;)), about 6-9"s, all on a caddis. Great time, lotsa fun, was able to apply alot of things I learned on the Sky with a bit of modification to the Snoq.

Just curious out there, I've been trying to get a feel for how the MF runs and what the real barrier points in the water are. I've always headed pretty far upstream to fish it, usually past the Snoqualmie trail head, what has people's experience been with the water down below? It looks like it gets alot more pressure, but maybe is a bit better holding water for larger fish. Any thoughts?

2. grizzwint

grizzwint Member

sounds like you had a good day :thumb: From my experience, you can find fish just about everywhere, but the further off the beaten track you get, the better the fishing seems to be. Ive fished all up and down the middle fork road, and theres fish all through it, but theres some truth in idea that the spots further up the road recieve less pressure, therefore more (hungry, naive?) fish. Dont get too technical, and like you said, its great scenery and a great place to hone your skills. cheers.

3. Stew McLeod

Stew McLeod aka BigMac

Media:
    I've always liked the area up and down from the main concrete bridge. Lots of good water and an easy hike.