NFR Might Be Interesting to Some

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by miyawaki, May 19, 2013.

1. miyawaki Active Member

Kent, Washington, USA.
    Ratings: +887 / 1
    Here's a little something unusual that some may find interesting. In 1961, the A-12 (pre SR71 Blackbird) had to be moved by secret convoy from Burbank to Area 51. The copy is a bit laborious but the photos of the "vintage" automoblies juxtaposed with the incredible design of the Blackbird is astounding! keep in mind that this plane was built in 1961!

Leland.

http://www.roadrunnersinternationale.com/transporting_the_a-12.html
  2. SHigSpeed Active Member

Rocklin, CA
    Ratings: +46 / 0
    So cool! Thanks for sharing this.

_SHig
  3. miyawaki Active Member

Kent, Washington, USA.
    Truly an NFR post!

Pretty crazy eh? I graduated from high school in 1961. Cars were being designed in Detroit. They should have let the engineers at Lockheed design cars.

Leland.
  4. rainbow My name is Mark Oberg

Renton wa
    Ratings: +78 / 0
    What a trip, when were these photo's released. I was station at gorge AFB got out in 79, always been an interesting topic.
  5. zen leecher aka bill w born to work, forced to fish

Moses Lake, WA
    Ratings: +1,034 / 1
    Where they refer to an A-12 and a YF-12 the "Y" designates a prototype. I'm not sure why they'd call it a "YF" as the "Y" is prototype and the "F" is fighter.
  6. Pete Bridge Member

Lake Tapps, Wa
    Ratings: +4 / 0
    I love this stuff, if I saw that going down the road my imagination would take me to even more far out places than the "Oxcart"! Thanks for sharing this. I love the story about when one crashed in the desert and in one day they had it cleaned up and looking completely natural.
  7. Salmo_g Active Member

Your City ,State
    Ratings: +1,706 / 0
    Interesting. I never heard of this stuff. I presume this was all top secret so that Russian satellites couldn't photograph it. The Cold War was great for business.