Moving Water

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Bruce Davidson, Jan 31, 2006.

1. Bruce Davidson

Bruce Davidson formerly hatman

I'm new to the cutthroat and coho beach fishing scene and have been doing much research, reading, exploring and such for the past couple of months. I've gotten out a few times in between the unrelenting storms, and even hooked a couple of SRCs. :beer2:

I have learned through my reading much from this forum (thanks for all the info) and from Les's book about finding moving water, current seams, and the like. But I do have a question perhaps someone can address. I'll form it around a familiar example: I've been to the Narrows a couple of times on both ebb and flow. I tried to find water where the current was pushing against the shore and fished this. Over time, naturally, the current shifted and moved offshore outside of of casting distance. My question is this: (finally)--- Am I wasting my time fishing the near shore in the 'dead water' where the current has moved out? Should I have moved on to find moving water against shore? Thanks.

2. Bob Triggs

Bob Triggs Stop Killing Wild Steelhead!

Media:
    Home Page:
    I would say that it is good to find current, and slack eddy lines, seams etc, structure,(which can include any physical interruption along the shoreline), etc.

Sea Run Coastal Cutthroat Trout like to move in saltwater and I think that the most successful anglers will have learned to keep moving too, especially when fishing from the beach on foot. When the current you are fishing changes, reverses or goes slack etc., expect that the fish are ahead of that occurence, and then try to get a sense of where the drift of the forage may be coming from or headed next.