Multi-Day Bushwhack Down River in Gifford Pinchot

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Fairways_and_Greens, Sep 10, 2013.

1. Fairways_and_Greens Member

Ratings: +9 / 0
    Hello all. I'm just getting into the sport (I'm 32). My dad (in his 60's) has always wanted to be dropped off in a stream in the Gifford Pinchot and walk it until it connected back up with the Cowlitz. I'd imagine this will take 3 to 4 days... We want do it next summer. I'd like to do everything I can to be ready by then to make it a memorable trip.

If there are any resources out there or if any of you guys would consider sharing your experience doing something like this, I would be grateful.

Things on my mind:

• What's a good rod for something like this?
    • What kind of pack weight am I looking at? Is there any possible way to keep it under 20?
    • I was thinking hiking hammocks would be superior to tents
    • Is a waterproof bag recommended?
    • What about putting your gear in an inflatable raft?
    • If you've done anything like this, what did you wish you left home and what did you wish you brought with you?
    Thanks guys!
  2. Joe Goodfellow Active Member

DES moines wa
    Ratings: +101 / 0
    Lots of bug spray and a waterproof bag for lighter. Always remember keep it simple
  3. Skyler Evans Active Member

Fort Lewis
    Ratings: +33 / 0