Need help with materials

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by Thomas Williams, Jan 4, 2013.

1. Thomas Williams Habitual Line Stepper

Ansbach, Germany
    Ratings: +410 / 17
    Can someone list some materials I need to tie smaller sized intruders and speys? I want to start some up but dont want to waste money on the wrong stuff. Will be tying in the basic steelie colors red, blue, pink, orange, purple and black. I need to know what hooks and barbells to use as well. I know im a newbie sorry.
  2. Big E Moderator

Coon Bay
    Ratings: +364 / 0
    Hooks
    Waddingtons
    Tinsel, flat and round
    Guinea
    Spey Hackles
    Rhea
    Ostrich
    Bronze Mallard
    Amhearst
    Estaz
    Dumbell Eyes
    Fireline
    Floss
    Schlappen
    Seal Dubbing
    Polar Bear
    Gadwall
    Squirrel

That should get you started.
  3. Jamie Wilson Active Member

Arlington WA
    Ratings: +99 / 0
    Nice list
    Probably cost a bit too!!
    I wish I could get some good, long hackle without giving up my first born.
  4. Thomas Williams Habitual Line Stepper

Ansbach, Germany
    Ratings: +410 / 17
    When we say a bit are we talking more than 100$ under 200$? Let the downward spiral begin! :) I did get some nice hackle on a trade recently. Mostly black and white though. I think its Metz
  5. Big E Moderator

Coon Bay
    For all the colors you want I could easily spend $200 without even thinking.

Good Rhea is like $10 a feather, Polar Bear is $20 a sq inch, Seal is $5 a gram
  6. Big E Moderator

Coon Bay
    Just remembered something since you are budget conscious and only want to tie a few flies...

There was a fly shop in WA that sold kits whereby it had everything you needed in a pack to tie like a dozen flies of a intruder or spey pattern. Can't remember where it was though. I thought it was Irish Angler but I can't find anything on them. Maybe someone here knows.
  7. FT Active Member

Burlington, WA
    Ratings: +103 / 0