Needed: Boat Recommendation for Puget Sound (limited towing capacity content)

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by Chris Puma, Mar 17, 2008.

1. Chris Puma hates waking up early

stumptown
    Ratings: +2 / 0
    Can anyone help me out with a boat recommendation for Puget Sound considering my Subaru has a limited 2000 lb towing capacity?

I've been looking at craigslist for quite sometime now. Doing a little research here and there. I basically need something that will be comfortable to fish out of... If it's not comfortable I won't use it. I was really thinking of some sort of fiberglass center console especially since I'd like to use it all year around.

Am I on the right track thinking of a 13' or maybe 14' used fiberglass center console? I'm pretty sure this is going to give me great limitations on what weather and range. Is this a practical boat for the Sound despite these inconveniences?

I have very little boat experience but I'm willing to familiarize myself by taking safety classes, etc. before purchasing. I've always grown up around boats but never had the opportunity to own one.
  2. tomc Member

Beyond Shelton, WA
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    One of my boats is a Boston Whaler 13', its ok for nice casting days on the sound. I tow this with my Ford Ranger with absolutly no problem. I have considered towing it with a friends smaller similar car, and have no boubt it would be able to launch and tow the Whaler without difficulty. I would like him have the opportunity to buy some gas for a change:thumb:
    Tom C.
  3. ibn Moderator

Federal Way
    Ratings: +10 / 0
    Sounds like you've got the right idea. Check http://www.boattrader.com/ in addition to Seattle Times and craigslist. The nice thing about Puget Sound is there are really no rollers to worry about, and if you have mechanical failure there is land all around you and lots of other boaters, plus cell reception works. So you don't really need a backup outboard.