New Shotgun Advice: Remington SPR 310 vs Mossberg Silver Reserve

Discussion in 'Cast & Blast' started by Troutrageous, Nov 20, 2009.

1. Troutrageous Active Member

Yakima
    Ratings: +33 / 0
    I'm relatively new to hunting, and looking to get a 20 Gauge, any suggestions would be great, my price range is around 500, and I like the idea of a side by side or over under.

Anyway, the two guns in my price range that I've come across and I like the looks of are the Remington SPR 310 O/U 20 gauge, and the Mossberg Silver Reserve O/U 20 gauge. Like I said, I'm new to this, so even after trying to research online I may be way off track. If anyone more experienced has opinions or suggestions regarding these guns, or another they think would be worth looking at it would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks.
  2. alpinetrout Banned or Parked

Hiding in your closet
    Ratings: +75 / 0
    Look at them both hands on before you make a decision. The quality in the sub-$1000 O/U's fluctuates a lot even within the same line. I've looked at both and personally preferred the fit, finish, and feel of the Turkish-made Mossberg over the Russian-made Remington. Also, keep in mind that both of those guns use somewhat unconventional choke tubes.
  3. Flyn'dutchman Member

Wenatchee, WA
    Ratings: +3 / 0
    Save a little more cash and look for a used browning citori or baretta. You will be happier you did in the long run. The single trigger assembly on lower price guns can be trouble. Shot Gun World is a good web site for info on any of these. Most important thing is how the gun fits though. Good luck.
  4. Upton O Blind hog fisherman

out of state now
    Ratings: +221 / 0
    I also recommend you wait and save your money until you can purchase a used double shotgun of known quality such as Browning or Beretta. You will be glad you did.
  5. J.Butch New Member

Bellingham, WA
    Ratings: +0 / 0