New Spey'r for Steelhead

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by dv, Dec 21, 2002.

1. dv

dv Guest

So I have a new Spey rod, been sorta getting the hang of casting and I am really enjoying it (thanks to all that helped me get going). I had this past week off from work (well mostly) and I was able to go fishing on the Sky near Monroe and the Snoqualmie near Carnation five times. Sometimes hitting both rivers in the same day. As I'm new to this I didn't really expect to catch anything, but I have seen only one Steelhead caught by anyone..gear chuckers, boats, anyone. Does it get better than this or should I set my expectations lower about the number of fish in these rivers?

thanks,

dv

2. Steve Buckner

Steve Buckner Mother Nature's Son

Media:
    Home Page:
    I just tried to reply to your question and when I posted it, all my typing went away!!! Here goes again...

The number one thing to remember with Steelheadin is that you're going to have to put many long hours, days, and sometimes weeks in before you catch these elusive fish. We covet that which is rare and that is at least one of the reasons we put such emphasis on catching these fish. Remember that Steelhead fishing is almost never a numbers game. Even the best of them go many days without touching a fish.