New Switch Rod, Now What Do I Need - Help?

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by USMC VET, Feb 27, 2013.

1. USMC VET Member

Ratings: +7 / 0
    Greetings to all

I have purchased a Redington Prospector Switch Rod in 8wt.
    I would greatly appreciate any advice on what to buy next, since I am a disabled vet on a limited income with a family I have to purchase one thing at a time so I need some good advice on what to buy so I don't buy things that I shouldn't if I can avoid it . Reel-line-heads?

I will be fishing for steelhead/salmon fresh water medium flow and medium size rivers.

I do appreciate your assistance
  2. Evan Virnoche Guest

Ratings: +0 / 0
    i recomend a skagit compact or scandi compact if you plan on wetflies and big streamers most of the time. It is also helpful to have a dedicated switch/ Nymphing line.

Remember skagit is powered diesel truck to huck the ugly its going to land and splash hard and scandi's are primarily used for more of a finsesse landing/gentler presentation.

For example i have st croix imperial switch 7wt that i run 510gr skagit compact with airflo running line on a 10/12 cabelas reel for the big uglies. I also have an 8/9 Redington reel that i run the Rio Switch line 7/8 on for nymphing and skating flies.

The nice thing about running lines for example is i have my traditional spey rod echo tr 8136 that i use the same running line/cabelas reel with a 620 skagit compact. I can change the heads with multiple sink tips with any i rod i chose.
  3. hookedonthefly Active Member

Ratings: +121 / 0
    Find someone in your area that has a variety of heads. They should also be able to offer instruction on anchor points, D-loops and casting stroke.

My advice is that you try different heads before you buy one. This will ensure you get the right grain weight line for the rod and your casting style.