New to fly fishing for tuna

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Chasin Fin, Apr 23, 2012.

1. I've read just about every post related to fly fishing for tuna on this site and first, I just wanted to say thanks for all the info and help to this point. I am looking forward to hooking my first fish.

First, I am new to saltwater fly fishing and any serious fly fishing so most of this is all new. I believe I am going to purchase a TFO blue water 10-12 paired with a Ross monument 6lt. Two questions;

1) sounds like the rio outbound line is the ticket. What grain shoulda use? Also, do shorten the head or leave it at the factory length? What's the advantage of cutting it down?

2). Where can purchase the shock and awe flys or similar flys?

We do a lot of tuna fishing on our private boat out of northern California so I expect some trial and air. I plan to use the rod to cast to jumpers, the slide and when we have them boiling on bait.

2. Anil from Puget Sound Fly in Tacoma, WA hosts a number of popular tuna trips off the coast of WA. He's also the fellow who created the Shock and Awe. I highly suggest contacting him. You can get his shop's info from the list of sponsors.

Joe Pombrio likes this.
  3. Man if you are on the school you can't get it away from them....they are not particular. Any feather tied on a hook will work. Over weight that TFO 12 wt with at least a 14 wt sinking head. I'd opt for the heavier 12 weight rod. You never know the size of what is coming out of the school. After that first long run it is a "brutal" tug of war with the fish straight down below you. The lifting power of the 12 wt will help. If you can get it in a shorter rod that is better. A 5 wt will get them to the boat but it takes a stiffer rod to land them. When I hook one of these on an 8 wt, tears come to my eyes.