New to fly fishing

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by flyboy, Jul 26, 2001.

1. flyboy

flyboy New Member

Hello, I am brand new to the sport, just bought my first outfit and am looking for a river to start out on. Any help is greatly appreciated. By the way, I live in Seattle and am looking to fish 45 mins. to an hour away. Thanks again.

2. Scott Salzer

Scott Salzer previously micro brew

First off, get a copy of the Washington Gazetteer, it helps to have maps of the areas people will mention. I would start off on either the South Fork or the Middle Fork of the Snoqualmie. Check the regs! The SF runs along I-90 up to Snoqualmie Pass. For the MF, take exit 34, go left, stay right and head up the MF road. This road turns to gravel and basically follows the river. Both of these rivers are close to Seattle and relatively open for novice fly flingers.
    For dries, I would suggest elk hair caddis, stimulators or humpies. For wet, olive woolley buggers, hare's ear, pheasant tail. There is a nice flyshop in Issaquah, they open early - 0600, that you might want to stop by and see what they suggest. Welcome to the club and good luck.

3. flyboy

flyboy New Member

Thanks, I was told about the middle fork by another person, also. Looks like that is the one for me, hopefully I will be able to get up there this weekend...

4. skeith5

skeith5 New Member

Hey Flyboy,

I am heading up to a good spot on the snoqualmie this weekend, August 4th. You are more than welcome to come.

Scott
    scott.keith@wamu.net

5. guest

guest Guest

take a ferry to kingston or get to the west side of whidbey island for returning pinks and silvers any public beach or park prefered with heavy current such as point no point basic salmon patterns, morning best but at tide changes if chasing fish to shore--good luck

6. flyboy

flyboy New Member

Scott,

Sorry I missed your post. I would've definately met you, when will you be going up again?

7. skeith5

skeith5 New Member