Newbie - Spey advice

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Sahalee, Dec 30, 2004.

1. Sahalee

Sahalee Fishin' beats workin'

I am looking for some tips. I am a newbie to the forum and feel like a newbie to fly fishing even though I have been doing it off and on for some time. This is the first of my newbie questions.

I have a spey rod and have been practicing casting, now it is time to try to catch something. I am looking for some advice on where to go. I was in a shop the other night trying to ask a guy and all he would say condescendingly was, "any of the rivers" with a snear. I'm looking for a little more guidance than that. If someone out there could give me a tip on where "exactly" to go I would really appreciate it. I don't mean "exactly a place to catch fish", I know that is not reasonable, I'm not that new. I just wan't some advice on a place to perhaps spey fish for some steelhead. I am going to have my attention on trying to spey fish for the first time, I don't want to have to try to be Lewis or Clark in trying to find a place.

The Newbie appreciates any help. Please go easy on me ;+)

2. Matt Burke

Matt Burke Active Member

Media:
    1: Start out going SOUTH on NE 33RD PL toward E LAKE SAMMAMISH PKWY NE.

2: Turn LEFT onto E LAKE SAMMAMISH PKWY NE.

3: Turn SLIGHT LEFT onto NE INGLEWOOD HILL RD.

4: Turn SLIGHT RIGHT onto 228TH AVE NE.

5: Turn LEFT onto ISSAQUAH PINE LAKE RD SE.

6: Turn LEFT onto SE 32ND WAY.

7: SE 32ND WAY becomes SE 32ND ST.

8: SE 32ND ST becomes SE ISSAQUAH BEAVER LAKE RD.

9: Turn LEFT onto SE DUTHIE HILL RD.

10: SE DUTHIE HILL RD becomes 292ND AVE SE.

11: Turn RIGHT onto SE REDMOND FALL CITY RD/WA-202.

12: Turn SLIGHT RIGHT onto PRESTON FALL CITY RD SE/WA-203.

13: Turn LEFT onto SE DAVID POWELL RD.

Total Est. Time: 32 minutes Total Est. Distance: 14.15 miles