(NFR) I need help

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Greg Gilliland, May 3, 2004.

1. The motor or transmission is screwing up in the wifes van. When you are accelrating it kinds hiccups she says. I think it kinda stalls a little, It will do it when going from a dead stop, or even acclerating in speeding up. Anybody have any ideas at what could be wrong? Iam stumped for ideas. I was wondering if the tranny needs serviced or a tune up on the motor. Maybe clogged fuel filter?

Thanks Greg

2. Ron Eagle Elk

Ron Eagle Elk Active Member

I'm no great mechanic, but it sounds like a distributor advance problem to me, but these new fangled electronic ignitions are a mystery to me. A good tune up may help and may be cheaper than a tranny service. If you have a friend with a scope have them check it out, or have a repair service do the checking.

REE

3. How do they check for those things and how do they fix it. Also hooking it up to a computer will it tell them what wrong? I am not sure if there is a disrubutor in it or not?

4. Stephen Rice

Stephen Rice Senior Member

how many miles you got on that ? when is the last time you tuned it? Sounds like Distributor or fuel filter could be clogged? I would get it tuned up first. Definitely doesn't sound like a tranny problem though. I would guess fuel filter. just my 02 cents.

5. 116,000 miles With the fuel filter clogged would it still idle fine and when you are going dwon the highway run fine? Will try and get it in this week for a tune up. Can they put it on there scope and check it out for whats wrong?

6. Big K1

Big K1 Large Member

Maybe the O2 sensor. If it hiccups once or multiple times when accelerating usually at highway speeds when you try to pass a car or going up a hill the O2 sensor can be the culprit.

Kevin

7. Stephen Rice