( NFR ) Just curious what everyone does for a living??

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Roper, Dec 11, 2003.

1. Roper

Roper Idiot Savant

If you need a senior partner, let me know...seriously, what do you like to do? Find a job doing just that...I've spent 30 some years chasing a paycheck. I think I would have rather done something creative instead.

Roper,

Good things come to those who wade...

2. Steve Buckner

Steve Buckner Mother Nature's Son

Been there!!! I graduated with a B.S. degree in Applied physics and had been a computer programmer for 10 years or so out of college. I programmed in a variety of languages on various database platforms and was in the healthcare field. As the technology continued to change at a staggering pace, I found myself working 50-70 hour work weeks and then spending my "free" time trying to get caught up on the latest COM technologies. Just about the time one program would get the kinks worked out, Microsoft would come out with a new version of something and we would start the process all over again. It wore me out!!!

What I started to realize was that although money is nice, all things considered, I'd rather live on less and do what I enjoy. Life is too short and many who live only for their retirement may find that life has passed them by.

I also considered going back to school for a masters but never figured out what it would really do for my career because my goal was never to stay in corporate America. We Americans spend too much of our lives working and not enough time with family, friends, and doing what we enjoy. It's my understanding that in Australia, the average work day is about 6 hours. We could/should learn a thing or two from our Europian/Australian neighbors.