NFR: Shed Hunting?

Discussion in 'Cast & Blast' started by Panhandle, Apr 19, 2008.

1. Panhandle Active Member

Selkirk Mountains, Idaho Panhandle
    Ratings: +23 / 0
    I've really got into horn hunting the past two years. The Selkirk wilderness is behind my house, and since February I have literally hiked 100's of miles of game trails...... not one horn. I basically just cross country hike, finding game trails and following them for miles. Why am I not finding anything? I know elk start shedding now, but I would think I'd have found some Moose Paddles or deer tines by now. I know it was a tough winter and the deer may have shedded in groups down low, but what about moose? Advice strongly welcomed. :)
  2. Nate Dutton I'm a teacher, I fish to eat!

Anchorage, AK
    Ratings: +1 / 0
    I have done well shed hunting where those animals spend the most time...i.e. any fields/clearings that you know the animals frequent. I know it really isn't much but that is how i have had most of my sucess..key in on those places and around those places....Good Luck i haven't found a really good shed yet this year just some small mulies..Waiting for the big one i know i will find:)
  3. Mark Speer It's all good.....

Clarkston,WA
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    Pan, while I am not a horn hunter..a couple of friends are. They say most of their success comes not from as much "walking" as it does from spotting them with binoculars or spotting scopes. They will sit for 15 to 20 minutes just scoping around. They are very successful at it. In talking to them... the 15-minute sit will make up hours of walking around hoping to stumble on some. Don’t know if this helps, so take it for what it is worth. They are both avid hunters also, so they know where they big bulls are at most of the year.
  4. Panhandle Active Member

Mark, I never thought about that. Makes sense. I guess I need to go get a nice pair of binoculars. :)
  5. IveofIone Active Member

Ratings: +885 / 0