Nooksack River Steelhead

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by Sheepdog, Sep 25, 2003.

1. Sheepdog

Sheepdog New Member

Hi All,

I'm new to this forum & am looking for some ideas. I have been flogging the Nooksack for a couple years, looking for steelhead. But I've only had one hook up on the Middlefork two years ago. So I've just about given up on the river & tend to drive an hour to the Stilly or the Skagit instead.

Anyway, if anyone has some information to share, I'd appreciate it. Like when do they start showing up? I always thought it was late October through January or February. (With ice building up on the rod a necessity!)

If you're feeling generous, how about some general areas? I've hit the Middlefork a bunch...from the mouth to about 5 miles up stream...Fished the Northfork both up & down stream of where the Middlefork dumps in, spent time below the Kendall Hatchery, been upstream of Ferndale...& hit the South Fork near Whickersham....mostly it seems like I've just been out for a walk on a cold day with my fly rod!

If these areas are the place to go, great, just lemme know, I can deal with paying my dues. If you have other suggestions, I'm listening...

Mike d

2. mat1226

mat1226 Active Member

Driving south to the rivers you named is the way to go.

Otherwise look for an early run of hatchery fish heading for the middlefork in Nov. Try for them below the Middle Fork on the N. Fork and in the Middlefork itself.

Mark

3. mike doughty

mike doughty Honorary Member

IF your just looking for steelhead then the nooksack is not your best bet. although it does has a descent run of winter fish, but has much better salmon runs mainly silvers and chums starting around the middle to late Oct. that's about all i can tell you, somebody else i'm sure will be able to help you out more.

4. Nooksack Mac

Nooksack Mac Active Member