NOR-VISE

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by Uno, Dec 27, 2008.

1. Uno

Uno Member

Hello All,

What are your experiences with the NOR-VISE?

Thanks,
    Uno

2. C O D Y

C O D Y Oh, this is so good it just HAS to be fattening.

Very well thought out design. I kept hearing "it will take some getting use to" before I used one... wasn't the case for me. I would rate it as one of the best vises on the market today.

3. Joe Fitzpatrick

Joe Fitzpatrick Member

Media:
    I love my Nor-Vise. Norm makes an excellent product and his customer service is bar none. I've tied with many vises and once I got the Nor-Vise in my hands, I'll never go back. Because of this vise is the reason I'm a Pro-Staff for Norm. If you have a friend who has one, try it out and see if you like it. It think the main reason for the high learning curve that everyone mentions, is because of the automatic bobbin. It's also a great product, but you can surely tie with regular bobbins like me.

4. Daryle Holmstrom

Daryle Holmstrom retiredfishak

Media:
    iagree

5. pittendrigh

pittendrigh Active Member

Home Page:
    Me too. I have a Regal, a Matarelli Traveler (is that what htey call it)
    the Cabela's Rotary, a hand forged vise made from needle nosed pliers
    and the NOR. I like them all (Cabela's the least). But I like the Nor
    the best. It's my main vice....after tobacco and whiskey anyway.

The Nor comes with a cdrom demonstrating all kinds of high-speed
    whoopdedoo body things you can do...all of which I seldom even attempt.
    But it's still worth it. The Cabela's rotary is so hard to turn and then to
    fix I end up using it as a stationary vise, if at all. What's good (for me)
    about the Nor vise is how easy is it to turn or spin when I want,
    and how quick and easy it is to fix right-side up, upside-down or sideways when
    I want that.

My only complaint is that it (the whole thing) tends to rotate horizontally