Northern New Hampshire Landlocked Salmon

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Steve Knapp, Oct 12, 2013.

1. Steve Knapp Beach Bum

Maple Valley
    Ratings: +262 / 3
    I have to tell this story, and I'm going to let the pictures do the talking for the most part, probably too many pictures.

My in-laws live in Pittsburg, NH, the last town before the Canadian border, and home of the Connecticut River headwaters. I have been visiting this area for over ten years, but generally in off season times like the Holidays. This year I told myself I would learn about the river and add fly fishing to our annual visit... with a priority on landlocked salmon and brookies. I had hiked all over the area, but with limited time to fish I needed to cut the learning curve. I contacted local guide, Greg Inglis, out of Orvis' Lopstick Lodge. I had never hired a guide and was pretty apprehensive. As soon as I walked into the shop in the morning I knew I had made the right decision. Greg said if I wanted to hike in, we had a great chance at finding some landlocked salmon moving into the rivers from the lakes to spawn. Here's how it went... and no those aren't browns. DSCN2299 (800x600).jpg DSCN2300 (800x600).jpg DSCN2301 (800x600).jpg DSCN2303 (800x600).jpg DSCN2304 (800x600).jpg DSCN2306 (800x600).jpg DSCN2310 (800x600).jpg DSCN2313 (800x600).jpg DSCN2315 (800x600).jpg DSCN2316 (800x600).jpg DSCN2319 (800x600).jpg DSCN2328 (800x600).jpg DSCN2332 (800x600).jpg DSCN2320 (800x600).jpg DSCN2322 (800x600).jpg DSCN2340 (800x600).jpg DSCN2346 (800x600).jpg