Nymph Fishing

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by rlight, Mar 10, 2009.

1. rlight

rlight Member

Greetings,

I am new to nymph fishing in lakes. I would like your thoughts on some of the best nymph patterns for lakes such as Squalicum, Padden, etc. Also, I would like your input on good soft hackle patterns for lakes.

Thanks I appreciate your help.
    rlight

2. pfournier

pfournier Do it outside!

If its shallow, an 18-24 beaded hares ear under an indicator works like a charm. If shallow like Leach Lake, just 10 inches or so below the surface is all you need.

Hang on time to your rod <-- pun intended.

Pheasant tail works great to. I don't think it has to be all that complicated.

3. cabezon

cabezon Sculpin Enterprises

Media:
    My top two choices for lake nymphs on the west side are a convincing damsel imitation and a black bead-head hare's ear nymph, occasionally tied with a flash back option. I will often use them in tandem, with damsel as the trailer.

Steve

4. pfournier

pfournier Do it outside!

OMG, I almost forgot my damsel nymph. Or event that it counts as a nymph. It is my go to fly trolled around the lake. Good way to prospect for fish and pump the menu. Then plan your day from there :)

5. Tim Cottage

Tim Cottage Formerly tbc1415

Damsel, Chironimid, Hairs Ear, Scud. These four patterns will keep you in fish 97% of the time. For these patterns as well as soft hackles think in the following colors, black, brown, green, peacock. Just dream up your own variations and profiles. It's hard to go wrong.

TC

6. Keaten LaBrel

Keaten LaBrel Formerly Tyinbugs

Media:
    My fav. lake nymphs include
    1. green roll-over scud #16-20
    2. silver lightning bug #16-20
    3. ice cream cone #16-18
    4. any kind of damsel nymph #8-12
    5. zug bug #14-18
    6. water boatmen #12-14

soft hackles
    1. brown bear brown (tough to find, old woven patt.) #10-16
    2. hare's ear s.h. #14-18
    3. delek. orange juice #16-18