october dreaming...

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Sean Beauchamp, Aug 1, 2002.

1. Sean Beauchamp

Sean Beauchamp Hot and Heavy at yer 6

just remember, throw 'em back

know that the silvers are beginning to show i am beginning to get pretty excited for themto hit the rivers. i get my drivers license on october 16, 2002 and will be hitting the local rivers in search of some silvers. i live in everett and i am looking for a river to spend some time on. i figure i'll take it one river at a time as opposed to whipping the water to a froth at every fishy looking river. i'm thinking of choosing either the skagit or the stilly for my "home" river (depending on the regs). the skagit can (and will) get flooded with every tom, #####, and harry thats looking for some fresh salmon fo the barby. but skagit silvers bite well and they usually get a good run. i have no experience on the skagit save for one day of humpy plunking. i do have some experience on the stilly and i like that river much better. there is something about nice tailouts and deep pools and good scenery (and SRC's) that make the stilly much more enjoyable than the mighty skagit. but it seems tome that stilly fish dont bite as well as skagit fish. i dont know. it was maddening last year when the river was chock full of fish and it still took a million (well maybe 50) casts to connect with a fish and then it would end up being a humpy snagged in the back. my best fishing buddy doesn't flyfish so the river or part of the river i can fish cannot be fly only water! so, if anybody has any ideas on which river (or a different river altogether) i should spend my time this fall then drop me a line. also, WDFW says they expect 1.5 million chums to return....thats a lot of fish and a lot of sore arms....cant wait.

2. Old Man

Old Man Just an Old Man

I might be old---but I'm good.