Old School New School Swap

Discussion in 'Fly Swaps' started by ComeOnSounders, Mar 3, 2014.

1. ComeOnSounders Member

Seattle
    Ratings: +17 / 0
    CANCELLED

So I’m getting ready to tie up a few different patterns to fill up some new fly boxes, and I figured I might as well make a swap of it. I’ve been itching to jump on the next swap that pops up but just can’t wait any longer. This is my first swap and I'm fairly new to tying, but I think my skills are up to it. And how hard can it be to run a swap anyways (famous last words of a rookie swapmeister)? For a theme, I was thinking your favorite old classic vs a more modern take (or whatever is new to you) on the same bug.

CANCELED

Sorry, but this one just never got enough interest. I'll throw a new one out later this summer when I've got some time.
  2. PhilR New Member

Beaverton
    Ratings: +8 / 0
    Being a fairly new to tying, and my first swap, I think I'll jump in here too. I'm assuming trout, and you're not restricting to a type of fly. I might do something like a classic prince nymph, and a purple prince, or something similar with a soft hackle.
  3. ComeOnSounders Member

Seattle
    Trout is what I was thinking, but anything will work. I've got a couple books with classic patterns from the 40s that I love referencing. Looking through these and searching the web for different ideas/takes on the same patterns is what gave me the idea. Glad someone is on board!
  4. Whip-LASH MEOW

SEA-TOWN
    Ratings: +14 / 0
    Sounders,
    I am down to tie some classic/old school trout flies, but need some clarification on this swap? Do you want to us to use traditional materials on these classic/old school flies or keep to the original pattern and use any materials? Whatever you decide, I'm looking forward to this fly swap.
  5. ComeOnSounders Member

Seattle