Olympic Peninsula Rivers

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by FF_Fanatic, Oct 2, 2012.

1. FF_Fanatic

FF_Fanatic New Member

I just got my first drift boat, therefore I am considering myself as a beginner when it comes to rowing a drift boat. Took it few times to Yakima Canyon and didn't have any problems getting around and avoiding obstacles.
    Which rivers would you recommend on peninsula for a beginner steal head enthusiastic? Based on my research my initial opinion is Hoh river.
    Thoughts/Suggestions?

BTW the boat is Clacka FFB.

2. Rob Ast

Rob Ast Active Member

Media:
    I'm no expert (though I'm sure they will chime in), but after floating each I would say the Hoh or the Bogie would be manageable by someone with a modicum of skill.

3. Christian Brewer

Christian Brewer Super Slacker

Media:
    Both the Lower Hoh or the lower Bogie below 101 are very manageable for someone that has been on the sticks a few times and is familiar with how their boat handles. Both rivers above 101 have some hairy boulder sections and are subject to sweepers or blockages that sometimes require portages. I would float the upper sections with someone who is experienced with the rivers before you decide take a drift boat down them.

Definitely count out the Sol Duc and the Callawah!

4. FF_Fanatic

FF_Fanatic New Member

Thanks for the info.

I heard some scary stuff about Callawah... That is why I am asking and trying to find out what are the places that I shouldn't have business being at until I get comfortable and experienced with my new drift boat.

5. Stonefish

Stonefish Triploid, Humpy & Seaplane Hater

Media:
    All of those rivers up there can change after high water, so what was any easy float might be different the next time you float it. Folks claim the Bogie is easy from 101 down, but it seems every year it eats a boat or two. I saw a boat get pinned up there last year.