Oryx hunt New Mexico

Discussion in 'Cast & Blast' started by Jeff Coria, Mar 23, 2010.

1. Jeff Coria

Jeff Coria Member

2. fletch

fletch New Member

awesome!

3. Jmills81

Jmills81 The Dude Abides

Media:
    good for you bro

4. Upton O

Upton O Blind hog fisherman

Home Page:
    Great photo. How about a little narrative about your hunt? I understand these critters can be very skittish and difficult to get within range. What caliber shootin' iron and size bullet were you shooting?

5. Big Tuna

Big Tuna Member

Media:
    And maybe what that critter is doing in New Mexico. I'm no wildlife expert, but I'm thinking it's not indigenous.

6. Upton O

Home Page:
    That's true, Big Tuna. I think of them as brown trout with fur and horns; not from here but still great sport in the wild open spaces of New Mexico, Texas and Arizona. Now if the animal kept and hunted in a small confined area, well, that's the same as fishing in a hatchery to me.

7. Jeff Coria

Jeff Coria Member

Hello Fisherman/women a narrative was requested so this is it

I drew the Oryx hunt under a Iraq war veteran hunt. I was fortunate to draw first round since it is a once in a life time hunt. I hired a guide. The hunt is only two days, so it is a no fail mission. Some people wait for years to get this hunt and don't get a shot, I heard many complain that they didn't see any but if you look hard enough they are there. They blend in very well! Having a guide helped a lot! SOOO WORTH IT!

They were introduced from 1969 to 1977 along with other African species that did not handle the cold winters. Oryx are also known as gemsbok and all over south Texas in hunting ranches. They thrive down there but on a ranch they will cost you about 8000 dollars to kill.