Overhead Two Handed Casting

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by OhioOutdoorsman, Mar 30, 2008.

1. OhioOutdoorsman New Member

Akron, OH
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I built a Batson Switch Rod this winter and have been fishing this spring in Ohio for steelhead. Two handers are a new concept here and I've been learning mostly from books, videos, and trail and error because well, I'm the only person I know doing it here. Haven't been able to find much on 2 handed overhead casting. Any advice on proper technique or where to find info on proper technique?

I can overhead cast one handed, but it seems two handed would be much less tiring, which is why (along with desire to swing flies when the water gets high and or dirty), I took up a two hander.
  2. Matt Burke Active Member

Kenmore
    Ratings: +69 / 0
    There are damn few that do it. I've been teaching myself for four years now. As far as I know there isn't a proper technique or info on it. Ask me some questions and I'll give it my best shot. If you googled it, I know you saw my name asking the same questions several years ago.
  3. SPEYBUM Member

CARNATION, WASHINGTON, USA.
    Over Head Casting Notes
    I teach overhead casting with a Two Handed Fly Rod as a way to install the proper rod track from the key position to the forward stop.
    I had a very hard time with understanding several things so I took a great deal of time to understand the overhead cast as done with a Two Handed Fly Rod. This has helped my Single Hand Fly Rod casting immensely,
    The hardest thing to grasp is this the same things that plague the Single Hand Fly Rod caster with also plague the Two Handed Fly Rod caster.

The forward casting stroke is the same with a few small changers.
    One you are working with both hands the lower hand will initiate and power the cast and the top hand if need may finish the cast but for the most part you will no need.
    For ease of theaching brake all my cast down into elements.

The Elements