Pale Morning Dun emergence characteristics

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Entomology' started by zen leecher aka bill w, Jul 24, 2014.

1. zen leecher aka bill w

zen leecher aka bill w born to work, forced to fish

Media:
    I've read some of the clinger mayflies transform from nymph to dun as they are transiting up the water column. Hafele's and Hughes' book didn't specify which clinger nymphs did this as they clumped the clinger nymph family together.

Does the PMD emerge the nymphal shuck at the surface of the water or part way up the water column.

I'm tying PMD emergers/soft hackles and would like to know as to whether to add partially formed wings to the emergers or not.

I'm working on next year's trip to the Firehole in June. This year comparaduns fished slightly sunken (no floatant with me) produced fish. I'd like to fish a comparadun with an emerger/soft hackle trailer next time.

2. tkww

tkww Member

Media:
    I'm no expert, but nothing I've read about them suggests that the wings have much in the way of successful showing prior to the surface film. (I dunno, seems like it would make getting through the film pretty much impossible if the wings made it out, not to mention the wings are drying to dry out/harden up to be used, not get even more wet.)

There are patterns out there for it, whether it's the body or the wings. Mercer's trigger nymph is tied with a bulge of different color in the thorax. Barr's Emerger uses a two-tone body, I assume to represent half-in and half-out of the shuck. And there is also the split-case nymph, with a strip of the "emerging" color showing through the nymph wing pads.

As to why sunken "dries" worked, I think drowned emergers, duns, or cripples could also be an answer that scenario.