Pass Lake Report 5/7

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by marcopolo, May 8, 2005.

1. marcopolo

marcopolo Member

I hit Pass Lake yesterday thinking that I could maybe replicate the four Browns day that I had the previous Saturday. I am a creature of habits so if I have a good day one weekend, you can bet that I will be back the following one.
    I any case, I hit the lake around 9:30AM and landed a 23" Brown on a dry within 15 minutes and my first thought was that it could be the start of an incredible day. Well, sure enough: nothing for the next six hours as I threw everything I had in my fly box.
    There was another fly fisherman who started pretty much at the same time as I did and landed three right away and like me, did not have a strike for the rest of the day. I also saw a couple towing buggers accross the lake. The lady seemed to have some luck on red buggers.
    I am not that technical about fly fishing but my guess is that the temperature kept going up and down and may have been the factor for the slow fishing. I also heard rumors of fish activity slowing down when a low pressure system settles in ... ???
    Anyway, that fish gave me a good fight so I won't complain too much.

On another note, some stupid kid threw a small but full water bottle at me from a moving car and missed by over 20' when I was fishing the bank by the road. What a lousy shot! I don't want to think about what if he had connected!

2. bwtucker83

bwtucker83 Member

Media:
    good report. thanks

3. Diehard

Diehard aka Justin

Media:
    Nice work getting the brown on top. That is a nice fish. :thumb:
    I was there a week and a half ago and got 3 on top, but they were all rainbows. Still haven't been able to get one of those browns off the surface.

4. yjluke

yjluke New Member