peninsula weather question

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by Andy D, Mar 12, 2013.

1. Andy D

Andy D Active Member

Media:
    I had planned on fishing out on the peninsula the 17th through the 19th, and I was looking for some insight on how the heavy rains expected over the next few days will effect the conditions out there. Every other time I have been out there I have had decent weather leading up to my trip. I am wondering if the rivers will be blown out or dropping back into shape by then?

Thanks
    Andy D

2. Kyle Escamilla

Kyle Escamilla Active Member

http://www.nwrfc.noaa.gov/weather/10_day.cgi

I am new to reading the weather charts to gauge flows but to me it appears they will be high when you get there and could possibly be dropping into shape by the 17th. I am basing that off of the precipitation, freezing levels, and temperature. Hopefully somebody that is more experienced will chime in and tell me if I'm somewhat right. I myself will be heading there either way to learn the area a little better and find more fishing locations.

3. Jim B

Jim B Flyfishin' and homebrewin'....priorities ?

4. Mossyback

Mossyback New Member

4-7" of rain forecasted this week in the Olympics and snow level going up to 6000'. Might be a good weekend to stay home and tie.

5. Mossyback

Mossyback New Member

Here they go...

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

6. Befishin

Befishin Member

texasweaver likes this.
  7. Andy D

Andy D Active Member

Media:
    Yeah I noticed that. I was just hopping that with the heavy rains stopping early thursday and with the potential drop in temp that the rivers might drop into fishable shape by sunday afternoon.

8. Andy D

Andy D Active Member

Media:
  9. Bob Triggs

Bob Triggs Your Preferred Olympic Peninsula Fly Fishing Guide

Media:
    Home Page: