Petitjean's Magic Tool

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by ceviche, May 26, 2004.

1. ceviche

ceviche Active Member

I bought mine recently, and, after a rough start, I found it wonderful for tying size 20 flies. PMD's and BWO's are now do-able. Tie in tail, dub on body, make dubbing brush with CDC, wind on brush, whip-finish the head, and trim down the CDC to get the right profile.

I tried float-testing my duns and emergers by throwing them into a bowl of water. They all did well until finally intentially sunk.

Anyone else working on small patterns?

2. Rob Blomquist

Rob Blomquist Formerly Tight Loops

I saw it used at the NW FlyTyer's conference earlier this year, and I was amazed. I'm not that big a CDC user, well I am just getting into it. But I have been wondering about getting one, because it appears to be worth every penny.

Where did you get one local? I may visit there soon if it is local.

Rob

3. ceviche

ceviche Active Member

Where, where, where? I went to three places that day, and I can't remember. It was either SportCo (unlikely), GiJoe's (possible), or Puget Sound Fly Company (most likely). Once you get the hang of the tools (trial and error), you'd be surprised.

Here's something interesting. If you have Dave Hughes' _Western Streamside Guide_, look up those Rene Harrop Hairwing Mayfly Duns. Those flies are palmered with hackle at the thorax and trimmmed underneath. This gives the impression of legs on the surface. The hairwing, naturally, creates the silhouette of the wing. When you palmer on the CDC dubbing brush and trim it underneath the fly, you get both the impression of the wing and the legs. It's kind of like a Comparadun without the hassles of the deer hair--and you get the effect of mayfly legs, too. That the tool makes tying size 20 dry flies suddenly easy is plenty enough of a selling point.

4. Kent Lufkin

Kent Lufkin Remember when you could remember everything?

Did you get the DVD or video that shows how to use the tool?