Polling WFF for a project in my entomology class at UW

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Entomology' started by Gary Knowels, Apr 1, 2011.

1. Gary Knowels

Gary Knowels Active Member

Hey guys and gals,

I'm a student at UW and am taking an entomology class. We were assigned with a project of our choosing as long as it is insect related. I have decided (and cleared it with the prof) that my project will be a poll of fly fishers about their favorite or most memorable hatch to fish. I would appreciate as many people's opinions as possible, but there are some guidelines.

There are 28 orders of insects we are studying and I want to get as close to all of them represented as possible. 2 or 3 from each order is great, but I don't need 30 caddisfly votes. The orders are as follows

Araneae-spiders
    opiliones-daddy long legs
    acari-mites/ticks
    scorpiones-scorpions
    pseudoscorpiones-pseudoscorpions
    uropygi-vinegaroons
    solfugida-windscorpions
    Collembola-Springtails
    Archaeognatha-bristletails
    Thysanura/zygentoma-silverfish
    Ephemeroptera-mayflies
    Odonata-damselflies dragonflies
    Plecoptera-stoneflies
    Trichoptera-caddisflies
    Orthoptera-grasshoppers, crickets, katydids
    Phasmatodea-phasmids, stick insects
    Dermaptera-earwigs
    Isoptera-termites
    Blattodea-cockroaches
    Mantodea-mantids mantises
    Thysanoptera-thrip
    Hemiptera-cicads, spittle bugs, leaf hoppers, whiteflies, aphids
    Phthiraptera-lice
    Coleoptera-beetles
    Neuroptera-lacewings, alderflies, dobsonflies
    Lepidoptera-butterflies, moths
    Siphonaptera-fleas
    Diptera-flies
    Hymenoptera-ants, bees, wasps

I realize that many of these may be unobtainable, but lets see what we can come up with

Also I would like to get the location (general, not specific ie a river name, lake name or type of water, what side of the state or out of state and elevation) and the situation.