Poly leaders and fluorocarbon

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Paul Huffman, Nov 28, 2012.

1. Paul Huffman

Paul Huffman Lagging economic indicator

Would you loop on fluorocarbon tippet onto on of those tapered poly leaders, or does the fluoro cut through the poly leader extension?

2. Patrick Gould

Patrick Gould Active Member

I've been doing it for two years and haven't had any breakage. (I'm using the ones labeled "trout" so they might be different from the the Steelhead ones.)

3. Sean Beauchamp

Sean Beauchamp Hot and Heavy at yer 6

Loop it right on no problems for me using 10 and 12# seaguar. Keep an eye on the factory loop on the poly tho I had two come apart this summer, both times I noticed before total failure and just tied another loop (non slip loop) and kept er rollin. The intermediate one seems solid as can be I fished mine all summer for dries and wets and its in great shape. My extra fast sink completely crumbled in 3 trips. So I switched back to t8 tips for that application.

4. yuhina

yuhina Tropical member

Agree! The intermediate is great, I keep them. But the fast, super fast polyleader is bad, I think the tapered front end is a bad design, I simply cut the front few feet off and tie a new knot.

5. John Clark

John Clark Member

The rio steelhead polyleaders have a 24lb mono core. I think you would be ok.

6. How does the T-8 turn over in comparison to the tapered poly? What kind of head are you throwing with that?

7. John Clark

John Clark Member

As long as you keep your "t" material a respectable length say less then 12' you can turn it over with a big ugly with the skagit your using.

John

8. Sean Beauchamp

Sean Beauchamp Hot and Heavy at yer 6