Pontoon Boats

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by miracle mile, Feb 15, 2003.

1. miracle mile

miracle mile New Member

Any thoughts or recommendations on one person pontoon boats (approximately 8-9 ft.)? I think I am interested in bladderless pontoons such as the River Otter, Black Bear, or Skookum boats. Its primary use will be rivers with 1-3 class riffles/rapids, but would like the versatility to occasionally kick around a lake as well. Features that are important to me include durability, warranty, minimum maintenance tubes, 300+ lb capacity, and enough cargo area to carry overnight gear or a dog. All thoughts or recommendations are appreciated. Thanks much.

2. Couleeflyfisher

Couleeflyfisher Member

You're on the right track. Most of the pontoon boats from majors like Buck's & Outcast are fine, but boats with regular raft material pontoons are far superior. I'm prejudiced because I've been using Otters for over ten years, and I regularly fish with about 20 guys, both Westsiders and locals that all have either River or Water Otters. A couple of these used Bucks for awhile but changed over due to the lighter weight. No one in this group has ever had a pontoon failure. Black Bear and Skookum use the same type pontoon.

3. Old Man

Old Man Just an Old Man

Media:
    I used to know it all---but now that I'm older I seem to forget it all.

Go to www.creekcompany.com and check out their boats. And if you live close to Everett go to Jerry's Surplus and see them in person.

Jim

4. FlyObsessed

FlyObsessed New Member